Charlie Wilson’s War war movie
online soccer manager

Charlie Wilson’s War war movie


Charlie Wilson’s War (2007, United States)

Categories: desert movies political movies

Charlie Wilson’s War

Director: Mike Nichols


Czas: 100 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Charlie Wilson, Texas Congressman, is more interested in patrying all night than taking care of the United States defence. Things changes when he learns about the Afghan warriors that are fighting with Soviet invasion.


Charlie Wilson, young U.S. Representative from Texas, is making the best of the position he has reached - he is partying all the time and doesn’t let the duties as representative to get in the way of having good time. As a member of several congressional committees related to defense he learns about the struggle of Afghan fighters following the invasion of their country by Soviet Union. Wilson uses his influences to double the budget for clandestine American operations in Afghanistan, like providing the modern weapons and training for the fighters. Soon he gets the chance to visit Pakistan and learn how insignificant the current American help for Afghan fighters really is - with budget of only 5 million dollars the American advisors can’t provide the fighters with proper arms. Wilson visits one of the refugee camps in Pakistan and this visit changes his view on the whole conflict. He meets with the local CIA official and starts his campaign to confront the Soviets in Afghanistan.

Film based on real events and the efforts of Texas representative Charlie Wilson to give the Afghan fighters the help they needed to fight the Soviet invaders, including the Stinger anti-aircraft missiles that finally gave the mujahideen forces weapons capable of shooting down Soviet Mi-24 Hind gunships. Even though the film presents real events some elements were slightly changed and unfortunately in the final version of the script parts that showed the link between supporting the mujahideen (that later evolve into fanatic organizations) and 9/11 attacks were omitted. So again we have here the story of brave Americans that have outsmarted the Soviets, but the part where the things got out of hand (and lead to chaos that is still in full swing) is surprisingly missing.


Our rating

6.0

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Charlie Wilson’s War 2007 war movie

Charlie Wilson’s War full movie


full movie Charlie Wilsons War on DVD
full movie Charlie Wilsons War full movie


Creators of Charlie Wilson’s War

Mike Nichols movies

Mike Nichols

director

Aaron Sorkin movies

Aaron Sorkin

screenplay

George Crile movies

George Crile

screenplay


Cast of Charlie Wilson’s War

Tom Hanks movies

Tom Hanks

as Charlie Wilson

Amy Adams movies amy-adams

Amy Adams

as Bonnie Bach

Julia Roberts movies julia-roberts

Julia Roberts

as Joanne Herring

Philip Seymour Hoffman movies philip-seymour-hoffman

Philip Seymour Hoffman

as Gust Avrakotos

Emily Blunt movies emily-blunt

Emily Blunt

as Jane Liddle

Peter Gerety movies peter-gerety

Peter Gerety

as Larry Liddle

Brian Markinson movies brian-markinson

Brian Markinson

as Paul Brown

Om Puri movies om-puri

Om Puri

as President Zia

Events depicted in Charlie Wilson’s War

Soviet-Afghan War (1979-1989)





Charlie Wilson’s War full war movie

Charlie Wilson’s War war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Christmas Trucedarmowe ogłoszenia