Breaker Morant war movie
online football manager

Breaker Morant war movie


Breaker Morant (1980, Australia)

Categories: courtroom movies cavalry movies partisans movies

Breaker Morant

Director: Bruce Beresford


Czas: 107 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
2019-07-17 / 2019-07-17


During Second Boer War three officers of the Bushveldt Carbineers are accused of war crimes and put on trial, but there seems to be more to that story than meets the eye.


During Second Boer War Bushveldt Carbineers, a light infantry unit of British Army formed during the conflict, are operating in secluded areas of southern Africa in partisan-like style: detached from regular army they have to live off the land and face the enemy in unfriendly areas of the land. During one of the patrols few of their men are shot dead in the ambush by Boers from nearby farm. Despite advise of fellow officers Lieutenant Breaker Morant orders his unit to attack the farm to take revenge for death of Captain Hunt. The farm was abandoned by Boers, but Morant with his men managed to track them down and attack at dusk a small group. Few Boers were taken prisoners, but the situation escalated quickly when Morant became convinced that one of the Boers is wearing trousers that belonged to Hunt. Morant ordered prisoners to be killed, so they would not slow them down as they have to return to their fort in a hurry. But that wasn’t the only rash decision of Breaker that would later lead him in front of court martial.

Australian war movie based on true story of Australian officers serving in British Army during Second Boer War that were one of the first people court-martialed for war crimes. Film concentrates on the court case as well as the non-obvious characters of those officers, so their guilt or innocence are not that easy to be seen - they did things they should answer for, but at the same time were they the only ones? Despite not great pace the film manages to catch the atmosphere that surrounded the court proceedings and show ambiguous face of the conflict that can be transferred to other wars - the morality and perspective changes during the war, but should it change the view on what is good and what is evil? Breaker Morant does not give easy answer to that, but leaves the viewer with doubts.


Our rating

7.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Breaker Morant 1980 war movie

Breaker Morant full movie


full movie Breaker Morant on DVD
full movie Breaker Morant read online


Breaker Morant videos


Breaker Morant




Creators of Breaker Morant

Bruce Beresford movies

Bruce Beresford

screenplay

Jonathan Hardy movies

Jonathan Hardy

screenplay

David Stevens movies

David Stevens

screenplay

Kenneth Ross movies

Kenneth Ross

screenplay


Cast of Breaker Morant

Edward Woodward movies edward-woodward

Edward Woodward

as Lieutenant Harry Morant

Bryan Brown movies bryan-brown

Bryan Brown

as Lieutenant Peter Handcock

Lewis Fitz-Gerald movies lewis-fitz-gerald

Lewis Fitz-Gerald

as Lieutenant George Witton

Jack Thompson movies jack-thompson

Jack Thompson

as Major James Thomas

John Waters movies john-waters

John Waters

as Captain Alfred Taylor

Rod Mullinar movies rod-mullinar

Rod Mullinar

as Major Charles Bolton

Bud Tingwell movies bud-tingwell

Bud Tingwell

as Colonel Denny

Terence Donovan movies terence-donovan

Terence Donovan

as Captain Simon Hunt

Alan Cassell movies alan-cassell

Alan Cassell

as Lord Kitchener

Vincent Ball movies vincent-ball

Vincent Ball

as Colonel Hamilton




Breaker Morant full war movie

Breaker Morant war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne infantry moviesformula 1 online game