1941 war movie
online soccer manager

1941 war movie


1941 (1979, United States)

Categories: aircraft movies military base movies submarine movies

1941

Director: Steven Spielberg


Czas: 112 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Soon after attack on Pearl Harbor Japanese submarine surfaces near the coast of California. They are here to attack Hollywood... if they can find it.


Soon after the attack on Pearl Harbor the preparations for defence of West Coast of United States has begun, the regular army and National Guard were put on alert to be prepared for any kind of attack. Japanese submarine surfaces near the coast of California with plan to attack where it will hurt Americans the most - Hollywood. The problem is the Japanese sailors have no idea how to find Hollywood or how far it is from the coast. When they spot the lights of nearby city they are convinced that they have reached their target. But the rumours about the Japanese submarine quickly circles the area and more evidence of upcoming invasion start the chain of events that put the army, airforce and half of the nearby population into alarm.

American comedy directed by Steven Spielberg, written by Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale (the duo of creators that later came up with Back to the Future movies) and with cast of actors known from Saturday Night Live - sounds like a recipe for a hit. But unfortunately the final effect of their work is comedy of mistakes way below average - cheap slapstick and 1940s nostalgia were not enough to make a decent movie. Plenty of characters, some of them too cartoonish to keep the movie real. As for war movies elements it presents the spirit of 1941 in United States, when the war was starting, but still no one was sure what will happen next and just like during Cold War tiny rumour could start a full scale panic.

The story was partly inspired by what is known as Battle of Los Angeles - the event from February 1942, when the air defence in California started to fire to enemy airplanes even though after the war it was determined that there were no Japanese airplanes nowhere near the area. In some theories it was started by UFOs, in others it was just a chain reaction started by a human error, but whatever it was it is fact that in February 1942 something kept the air defence in California in full alert for over 2 hours.


Our rating

3.6

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



1941 1979 war movie

1941 full movie


full movie 1941
full movie 1941


1941 videos


1941




Creators of 1941

Robert Zemeckis movies

Robert Zemeckis

screenplay

Bob Gale movies

Bob Gale

screenplay


Cast of 1941

Dan Aykroyd movies dan-aykroyd

Dan Aykroyd

as Sgt. Frank Tree

John Belushi movies john-belushi

John Belushi

as Capt. Wild Bill Kelso

Tim Matheson movies tim-matheson

Tim Matheson

as Capt. Loomis Birkhead

Ned Beatty movies

Ned Beatty

as Ward Douglas

Toshiro Mifune movies toshiro-mifune

Toshiro Mifune

as Cmdr. Akiro Mitamura

Christopher Lee movies

Christopher Lee

as Capt. Wolfgang von Kleinschmidt

Nancy Allen movies nancy-allen

Nancy Allen

as Donna Stratton

John Candy movies john-candy

John Candy

as Pvt. Foley

Robert Stack movies robert-stack

Robert Stack

as Maj. Gen. Joseph W. Stilwell

Treat Williams movies treat-williams

Treat Williams

as Cpl. Chuck Sitarski

Events depicted in 1941

World War II (1936-1945)





1941 full war movie

1941 war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne mercenaries moviesonline soccer manager