Sink the Bismarck! war movie
online football manager

Sink the Bismarck! war movie


Sink the Bismarck! (1960, United Kingdom)

Categories: naval battle movies navy movies

Sink the Bismarck!

Director: Lewis Gilbert


Czas: 97 minut

Laguages: English / German

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Royal Navy faces a greatest challenge so far - new German battleship Bismarck is about to leave Baltic Sea and serve as raider on Atlantic. Captain Shepard has to find a way to sink the colossus before it will attack the Allied convoys.


In 1939 Nazi Germany have launched a most advanced and most powerful battleship of its times - the mighty Bismarck. Together with other ships Bismarck is planned to attack the convoys that provide the so needed supplies for Great Britain. British forces, streched as they were in 1941, had to find a way to deal with yet another threat - according to intelligence Bismarck, together with cruiser Prinz Eugen, is about to break out of Baltic and start the active service on the Atlantic. Captain Jonathan Shepard, new chief of operations in Royal Navy, takes over his assignment just in time to have to deal with the German colossus and stop it from reaching the Atlantic. Unfortunately he has very limited resources available and since reaching North Sea German battleship avoided being detected. Admiral Lutjens on board of Bismarck realizes that British will do anything to stop him, so the battle of wits begins. Shepard manages to move few of the best British battleships close to the mainland, but still he has to find Bismarck first.

Film based on the real events involving the German battleship Bismarck and the efforts of Royal Navy to intercept it before the warship will be able to attack the Allied convoys. With only few historical inaccuracies (partly caused by the fact that the film was made before some secret documents surrounding Enigma were declassified) this is one of the best naval war movies in history. In Bismarck! 1960 war movie' title='Sink the Bismarck! 1960 war movie'>Sink the Bismarck! we have realism, good acting, surprisingly good special effects, thrilling plot based on historical story that will keep the viewers on the edge of the seat even if they know how the chase has ended.


Our rating

8.8

Film value

10 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Sink the Bismarck! 1960 war movie

Sink the Bismarck! full movie


full movie Sink the Bismarck! on DVD
full movie Sink the Bismarck! on DVD


Creators of Sink the Bismarck!

Edmund H. North movies

Edmund H. North

screenplay

C.S. Forester movies

C.S. Forester

screenplay


Cast of Sink the Bismarck!

Kenneth More movies kenneth-more

Kenneth More

as Captain Shepard

Dana Wynter movies dana-wynter

Dana Wynter

as Anne Davis

Carl Mohner movies carl-mohner

Carl Mohner

as Captain Lindemann

Karel Stepanek movies karel-stepanek

Karel Stepanek

as Admiral Lutjens

Laurence Naismith movies laurence-naismith

Laurence Naismith

as First Sea Lord

Michael Hordern movies michael-hordern

Michael Hordern

as Commander in Chief

Maurice Denham movies maurice-denham

Maurice Denham

as Commander Richards

Michael Goodliffe movies michael-goodliffe

Michael Goodliffe

as Captain Banister

Events depicted in Sink the Bismarck!

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Atlantic (3 Sep 1939)







Themes in Sink the Bismarck!

Royal NavyBritish navyNorth AtlanticGerman navy



War movies like Sink the Bismarck!

Michiel de Ruyter 2015 war movie

Michiel de Ruyter (2015)

The portrait of Dutch admiral Michiel de Ruyter, who challenged the English navy in 17th century and saved his country independence during a difficult time for Netherlands.

Sink the Bismarck! full war movie

Sink the Bismarck! war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne top 10 war moviesonline soccer manager