Sahara war movie
online soccer manager

Sahara war movie


Sahara (1943, United States)

Categories: desert movies infantry movies last stand movies siege movies tank movies

Sahara

Director: Zoltan Korda


Czas: 95 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


American M3 tank crew members, stranded in the middle of Sahara desert, find themselves surrounded by German battalion trying to get to the only water supply in the area.


American M3 Lee tank called Lulubelle is the last survivor in desert battle somewhere in North Africa. Under bombardment Sergeant Joe Gunn tries to fix the engine, so they can retreat, but it seems for them there is only way out of this situation - due south, straight into the vast emptiness of Sahara desert. Soon they meet survivors of British field hospital - Captain Halliday and few infantry men. Halliday asks Gunn to take them with him, since left here alone they would die. Now M3 is packed with people and heads towards the desert. They spot a British colonial soldier escorting an Italian prisoner, which is a bit of luck for them since Tambul, the Sudanese sergeant, is well oriented in the desert and can lead them to an oasis, where they could get water. With limited supplies Gunn decides to leave the Italian prisoner behind with only small amount of water and a tin of food. Giuseppe begs them not to leave him, but Gunn see no other option - they have not enough water for one more traveller. Nevertheless Italian runs behind the tank and finally Gunn changes his mind and take him on board. On the route they are attacked by German fighter, who shoots at them and wound one of the British. They take the pilot of crashed plane as a prisoner. When their fuel supply is running low they arrive to the oasis Tambul was leading them to, but soon they discover that the well is dry. Sudanese manages to spot a tiny little leak of water between the rocks, so they decide to stay here and slowly collect water. Before they have enough water German patrol arrives and Gunn learns that there is whole Nazi battalion heading towards oasis badly requiring water supply.

Classic war movie starring Humphrey Bogart, the story is adapted from Russian movie ’The Thirteen’ from 1937. Filmed during World War 2 Sahara has some inconsistencies in the storyline - the beginning is set after Tobruk has fallen (June 1942), few months before American forces arrived in North Africa (Operation Torch, November 1942), the ending takes place during the First Battle of El Alamein (July 1942), which would mean that the crew of Lulubelle spent over a month in the desert. Nevertheless when it comes to drama it is great movie, with very good cast, some bits of propaganda (afterall it was filmed in 1943), but definitely not one to be missed.


Our rating

7.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Sahara 1943 war movie

Sahara full movie


full movie Sahara on DVD


Creators of Sahara

Zoltan Korda movies

Zoltan Korda

director

Zoltan Korda movies

Zoltan Korda

screenplay


Cast of Sahara

Humphrey Bogart movies

Humphrey Bogart

as Sgt. Joe Gunn

Bruce Bennett movies bruce-bennett

Bruce Bennett

as Waco Hoyt

Lloyd Bridges movies lloyd-bridges

Lloyd Bridges

as Fred Clarkson

Rex Ingram movies rex-ingram

Rex Ingram

as Sgt. Tambul

Richard Aherne movies richard-aherne

Richard Aherne

as Capt. Jason Halliday

Dan Duryea movies dan-duryea

Dan Duryea

as Jimmy Doyle

Carl Harbord movies carl-harbord

Carl Harbord

as Marty Williams

Patrick O’Moore movies patrick-o’moore

Patrick O’Moore

as Osmond Ozzie Bates

Louis Mercier movies louis-mercier

Louis Mercier

as Jean Leroux

Guy Kingsford movies guy-kingsford

Guy Kingsford

as Peter Stegman

J. Carrol Naish movies j.-carrol-naish

J. Carrol Naish

as Giuseppe

Kurt Kreuger movies kurt-kreuger

Kurt Kreuger

as Capt. von Schletow

John Wengraf movies john-wengraf

John Wengraf

as Maj. Von Falken

Events depicted in Sahara

World War II (1936-1945) Siege of Tobruk (10 Apr 1941)





Sahara full war movie

Sahara war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Battleground 1949darmowe ogłoszenia grodzisk