Yesterday’s Enemy war movie
online soccer manager

Yesterday’s Enemy war movie


Yesterday’s Enemy (1959, United Kingdom)

Categories: ambush movies infantry movies jungle movies

Yesterday’s Enemy

Director: Val Guest


Czas: 95 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


British captain has to make a difficult decision when his unit is lost in the middle of Burma jungle.


Small unit of British army cut off from their main forces are moving back through jungle hoping to catch on with the headquarters. When they find a small village in the middle of nowhere they see a chance to finally get some rest. But when they move in Japanese hidden in the hut start to shoot. British soldiers managed to overpower the few Japanese and among them they found the lieutenant. Captain Langford is determined to find out what such high rank officer was doing here with only handful of soldiers, so he starts the interrogation of a man who was caught with Japanese. In order to make him talk he first threatens to kill him and, when it doesn’t work, to kill some of villagers.

Tensed war movie presenting the reality of Burma Campaign where all the fights were in jungle so dense that it was hard to determine wherever one is behind own or enemy lines. The script was reportedly based on a true story of British captain, who did perpetrated a war crime in Burma in 1942. Very good cast, very good script and very involving story.


Our rating

6.8

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Yesterday’s Enemy 1959 war movie

Yesterday’s Enemy full movie


full movie Yesterdays Enemy on DVD


Creators of Yesterday’s Enemy

Val Guest movies

Val Guest

director

Peter R. Newman movies

Peter R. Newman

screenplay


Cast of Yesterday’s Enemy

Stanley Baker movies stanley-baker

Stanley Baker

as Captain Langford

Gordon Jackson movies gordon-jackson

Gordon Jackson

as Sergeant McKenzie

Guy Rolfe movies guy-rolfe

Guy Rolfe

as Padre

David Oxley movies david-oxley

David Oxley

as Doctor

Philip Ahn movies philip-ahn

Philip Ahn

as Yamazaki

Bryan Forbes movies bryan-forbes

Bryan Forbes

as Dawson

Percy Herbert movies percy-herbert

Percy Herbert

as Wilson

Burt Kwouk movies burt-kwouk

Burt Kwouk

as Japanese Soldier

Events depicted in Yesterday’s Enemy

World War II (1936-1945)







Themes in Yesterday’s Enemy

British armyjungle warfareBurma campaignwar crimeJapanese army



War movies like Yesterday’s Enemy

Zulu 1964 war movie

Zulu (1964)

British soldiers in the secluded outpost in the middle of Africa have to face the army of Zulus.

Windtalkers 2002 war movie

Windtalkers (2002)

Film based on a true story of Navajo Indians, who were used during the World War 2 as translators to send coded messages between units on Pacific using their native language, which made it impossible for the Japanese to decode them.

Zulu Dawn 1979 war movie

Zulu Dawn (1979)

True events surrounding the biggest defeat of British in Zulu War - the Battle of Isandlwana.

Hacksaw Ridge 2016 war movie

Hacksaw Ridge (2016)

Desmond Doss, a conscientious objector on religious grounds, who despite his strong beliefs joins the army, but refuses to take part in war as soldier. While not even carrying a gun he became one of the heroes of Battle of Okinawa and recipient of Medal of Honor.

Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence 1983 war movie

Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence (1983)

British prisoners on Java are under command of Colonel Lawrence, who tries his best to keep the peace between POWs and guards. Arrival of Major Celliers destroys the frail balance between the two sides.

Yesterday’s Enemy full war movie

Yesterday’s Enemy war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne G.I. Janeonline football manager