The Wind That Shakes the Barley war movie
online football manager

The Wind That Shakes the Barley war movie


The Wind That Shakes the Barley (2006, Ireland)

war movies info
2018-06-25 / 2018-07-01


In 1919 the oppression of Irish nationalists reaches new heights and is the sparkle that starts the local revolt against British. But even the success in the conflict does not stop the erosion of the Irish society.


Two brothers, Damien and Teddy O’Donovan, are among many Irish people, who are being oppressed by the British forces in Ireland. World War 1 has just finished, but during the war, in 1916, they started revolt, which triggered British to suppress any further independence moves. In 1920, during a raid on their village, Damien and Teddy are held by the British and one of his friends is killed on the spot. Damien was suppose to leave for London to practice medicine in a hospital, but that event makes him change his mind and he joins his brother in Irish Republican Army preparing for the clash with British forces. The first action of his unit was attack on the barracks of Royal Irish Constabulary to acquire weapons and later they kill four British soldiers. One of the IRA members, Chris Reilly, is forced by the landowner Sir John Hamilton to betray his unit and British arrest both O’Donovan brothers together with rest of the brigade. While in detention Teddy is tortured by British officer, but refuses to give them any names of IRA members. One of the guards, soldier of Irish descent, helps them escape.

British war drama set during the Irish War of Independence and the Irish Civil War shows how the revolutionary movement in Ireland grew under as the answer to British oppression, but also how the war of independence did not stopped the divisions inside the Irish society. The story is told through the fate of two brothers, who fight together in the war of independence, but when the independence is finally reached they end up on two sides of another conflict. The Wind That Shakes the Barley is not very impressive when it comes to action scenes, but allows us to understand some of the reasons behind the tensions in Ireland and Northern Ireland throughout 20th century.


Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Wind That Shakes the Barley 2006 war movie

The Wind That Shakes the Barley full movie


full movie The Wind That Shakes the Barley full movie
full movie The Wind That Shakes the Barley on DVD


The Wind That Shakes the Barley videos


The Wind That Shakes the Barley




Creators of The Wind That Shakes the Barley

Ken Loach movies

Ken Loach

director

Paul Laverty movies

Paul Laverty

screenplay


Cast of The Wind That Shakes the Barley

Cillian Murphy movies cillian-murphy

Cillian Murphy

as Damien O’Donovan

Padraic Delaney movies padraic-delaney

Padraic Delaney

as Teddy O’Donovan

Orla Fitzgerald movies orla-fitzgerald

Orla Fitzgerald

as Sinead Ni Shuilleabhain

Roger Allam movies roger-allam

Roger Allam

as Sir John Hamilton

Laurence Barry movies laurence-barry

Laurence Barry

as Micheal O Suilleabhain

Martin Lucey movies martin-lucey

Martin Lucey

as Congo

Events depicted in The Wind That Shakes the Barley

Irish War of Independence (1919-1921)







Themes in The Wind That Shakes the Barley

Irish Republican ArmyBritish army

The Wind That Shakes the Barley full war movie

The Wind That Shakes the Barley war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Battle of Marathonsitcoms