The Thin Red Line war movie
online football manager

The Thin Red Line war movie


The Thin Red Line (1998, United States)

Categories: infantry movies jungle movies landing movies reconnaissance movies

The Thin Red Line

Director: Terrence Malick


Czas: 170 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


US Marines are preparing for the first big push in the Pacific - the Guadalcanal - but are they really ready for what awaits them?


US Marines aboard of the landing ships are preparing for their first major involvement in World War 2 - landing on the Guadalcanal island. The soldiers present various approaches to the idea of finally meeting the Japanese face to face. Their officers are trying to explain to them how important the operation is, but at their state of mind their own survival is more important to them than any patriotic ideas. Without much resistance the C Company reaches the base of the hill and under pressure from Lieutenant Tall they start the frontal attack. Despite of the cover from tall grass the C Company gets under heavy fire from the top of the hill, where the Japanese have prepared the bunkers and trenches. Captain Staros stops the attack, but Lieutenant Tall keeps pushing him over the radio to take a chance and attack again. The clash between the two is inevitable, especially when Staros refuses to accept the order to attack.

Based on the famous James Jones’ novel the movie shows wide range of characters, each presenting different views on the war, life, future and past. It was all fine during the training, but when they have to face the enemy they will have to make decisions that will change their own life, but also lives of the people around them. Jones himself was Guadalcanal veteran and his novel gives powerful image of how young people reacted put in front of the enemy, where each step means danger. The movie manages to show the atmosphere of the novel and creators did well when it comes to realism and gathered quite impressive cast.


Our rating

8.4

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Thin Red Line 1998 war movie

The Thin Red Line full movie


full movie The Thin Red Line on DVD


Creators of The Thin Red Line

Terrence Malick movies

Terrence Malick

screenplay

James Jones movies

James Jones

screenplay


Cast of The Thin Red Line

Jim Caviezel movies jim-caviezel

Jim Caviezel

as Pvt. Witt

Nick Nolte movies nick-nolte

Nick Nolte

as Lt. Col. Gordon Tall

Elias Koteas movies elias-koteas

Elias Koteas

as Capt. James Staros

Sean Penn movies sean-penn

Sean Penn

as 1st Sgt. Edward Welsh

Ben Chaplin movies ben-chaplin

Ben Chaplin

as Pvt. Bell

Dash Mihok movies dash-mihok

Dash Mihok

as Pfc. Doll

John Cusack movies john-cusack

John Cusack

as Capt. John Gaff

Adrien Brody movies adrien-brody

Adrien Brody

as Cpl. Fife

John C. Reilly movies john-c.-reilly

John C. Reilly

as Sgt. Storm

Woody Harrelson movies woody-harrelson

Woody Harrelson

as Sgt. Keck

Jared Leto movies jared-leto

Jared Leto

as 2nd Lt. Whyte

John Travolta movies john-travolta

John Travolta

as Brig. Gen. Quintard

George Clooney movies

George Clooney

as Capt. Charles Bosche

Events depicted in The Thin Red Line

World War II (1936-1945) Guadalcanal Campaign (7 Aug 1942)





The Thin Red Line full war movie

The Thin Red Line war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Battle of Ia Drangold time radio