The Night of the Generals war movie
online soccer manager

The Night of the Generals war movie


The Night of the Generals (1967, United Kingdom)

Categories: mystery movies

The Night of the Generals

Director: Anatole Litvak


Czas: 150 minut

Laguages: English / French

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


German general becomes suspect in the murder investigation.


The investigation of brutal murder of a prostitute in Nazi occupied Warsaw takes a surprising turn when the witnesses insist that the killer was a German general. Major Grau follows that lead and finds three generals that were in the city at that time. Especially one of them caught his attention - General Tanz, who is rather eccentric. But then Grau sees how Tanz ruthlesly deals with Polish resistance and civilians he becomes more and more convinced that his invetigation is on the right track. Unfortunately Tanz is transfered to France, which means that Grau will have to suspend his inquiry.

Marvelous film based on a Hans Hellmut Kirst novel Die Nacht der Generale (The Night of the Generals) is a crime story set during the World War 2. It involves German general that with what has to be described as serious mental disorders, but clearly in the middle of the war noone can tell the difference between inspired general and complete psychopath. Despite not really involving many war elements it is very good war movie and mentions important factors that were behind f.e. the conspiracy to kill Hitler. A must see - if not for the war values then as a study of human nature.


Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Night of the Generals 1967 war movie

The Night of the Generals full movie


full movie The Night of the Generals full movie
full movie The Night of the Generals on DVD


Creators of The Night of the Generals

Joseph Kessel movies

Joseph Kessel

screenplay

Paul Dehn movies

Paul Dehn

screenplay


Cast of The Night of the Generals

Peter O’Toole movies peter-o’toole

Peter O’Toole

as General Tanz

Omar Sharif movies omar-sharif

Omar Sharif

as Major Grau

Tom Courtenay movies tom-courtenay

Tom Courtenay

as Corporal Hartmann

Donald Pleasence movies donald-pleasence

Donald Pleasence

as General Kahlenberge

Philippe Noiret movies philippe-noiret

Philippe Noiret

as Inspector Morand

Charles Gray movies charles-gray

Charles Gray

as General von Seidlitz-Gabler

Christopher Plummer movies christopher-plummer

Christopher Plummer

as Field Marshal Rommel

Events depicted in The Night of the Generals

World War II (1936-1945) Warsaw Uprising (1 Aug 1944)





The Night of the Generals full war movie

The Night of the Generals war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Second Liberian Civil Warfilms de guerre