The Nest war movie
online soccer manager

The Nest war movie


The Nest (1974, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Gniazdo

Categories: cavalry movies knights movies

The Nest

Director: Jan Rybkowski


Czas: 95 minut

Laguages: Polish

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Mieszko, ruler of local Polans tribes, against the will of his father prepares for the clash against German Empire. But in order to save his people he has to find the way to baptise the whole nation.


In the dawn of Battle of Cedynia king Mieszko I of Poland is recalling the events that took place after the death of his father Siemomysl. Siemomysl was pagan ruler of the local tribes, who did his best to save his land from German colonization, but was always affraid of open conflict against Christian Germans feeling it will be disaster for his subjects. His son Mieszko disagree with Siemomysl - he was eager to fight the Germans in order to mark the land as belonging to the Polans. But the only way to achieve it was through catholicization. Since it was impossible to negotiate with Germans the catholicization Mieszko found a way to become part of the Christian Europe by marrying Czech princess Dobrava. By this maneuver he took away the excuse for further attacks from German nobles, who saw the raids on the land of Polans as crusade against pagans. Yet Margrave Odo I of Ostmark refused to accept this fact. The clash with Polans was inevitable.

Polish historical drama presenting the biography of first historic king of Poland, who used his skills to unite the tribes on his land and faced the attacks of German warlords. The film has a lot of value as biography and drama presenting the hard life in the 10th century. As war movie it presents the Battle of Cedynia, but apart from that has very little value. Overall interesting movie, but concentrating more on history than war.


Our rating

7.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



The Nest 1974 war movie

Creators of The Nest


Cast of The Nest

Wojciech Pszoniak movies wojciech-pszoniak

Wojciech Pszoniak

as Mieszko I

Boleslaw Plotnicki movies boleslaw-plotnicki

Boleslaw Plotnicki

as Siemomysl

Henryk Bak movies henryk-bak

Henryk Bak

as Boleslav I the Cruel

Janusz Bylczynski movies janusz-bylczynski

Janusz Bylczynski

as Markgraf Hodon

Czeslaw Wollejko movies czeslaw-wollejko

Czeslaw Wollejko

as Emperor Otto I The Great

Edmund Fetting movies edmund-fetting

Edmund Fetting

as Krystian

Events depicted in The Nest

Polans Wars (990-1018) Battle of Cedynia (24 Jun 972)





The Nest full war movie

The Nest war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Gallic Warsonline games