The Hunt for Red October war movie
online soccer manager

The Hunt for Red October war movie


The Hunt for Red October (1990, United States)

Categories: navy movies submarine movies

The Hunt for Red October

Director: John McTiernan


Czas: 134 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Experienced captain in charge of newest Russian submarine is obviously trying to defect to United States.


Based on the Tom Clancy novel story of Russian submarine commander who has planned to defect to USA. But the submarine isn’t just any sub - it’s the new and experimental model with super quite propulsion that neither side of the Cold War could easily detect. The hunt begins - Russians wants to stop the captain and the Americans are trying to figure out what actually is happening.

The movie isn’t even close to the level of the novel (for obvious reasons they couldn’t simulate the whole conflict including many American and Russian ships, subs and airplanes), it concentrates on the main plot only, the escape of Ramius. Of course it doesn’t mean that the movie is in any way faulty - it is highly entertaining and by all means worth watching.

The interesting thing is that the novel was actually inspired by real event - in 1960s Russian destroyer commander (also a new model) who was unhappy with the way Soviet Union was developing and decided to take action. The main differences are that he wasn’t actually wanted to defect to the other side and that he was communist who just wanted the country to be reformed.


Our rating

6.4

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



The Hunt for Red October 1990 war movie

The Hunt for Red October full movie


full movie The Hunt for Red October full movie
full movie The Hunt for Red October on DVD


Creators of The Hunt for Red October

Tom Clancy movies

Tom Clancy

screenplay

Larry Ferguson movies

Larry Ferguson

screenplay

Donald Stewart movies

Donald Stewart

screenplay


Cast of The Hunt for Red October

Sean Connery movies

Sean Connery

as Marko Ramius

Alec Baldwin movies alec-baldwin

Alec Baldwin

as Jack Ryan

Scott Glenn movies scott-glenn

Scott Glenn

as Bart Mancuso

Sam Neill movies sam-neill

Sam Neill

as Vasili Borodin

James Earl Jones movies james-earl-jones

James Earl Jones

as Admiral Greer

Tim Curry movies tim-curry

Tim Curry

as Yevgeniy Petrov

Peter Firth movies peter-firth

Peter Firth

as Ivan Putin

Stellan Skarsgaard movies stellan-skarsgaard

Stellan Skarsgaard

as Viktor Tupolev

Courtney B. Vance movies courtney-b.-vance

Courtney B. Vance

as Seaman Jones

Joss Ackland movies joss-ackland

Joss Ackland

as Andrei Lysenko

Events depicted in The Hunt for Red October

Cold War (1953-1991)





The Hunt for Red October full war movie

The Hunt for Red October war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne world war 2 moviesonline point-and-click game