The 13th Warrior war movie
online football manager

The 13th Warrior war movie


The 13th Warrior (1999, United States)

Categories: fantasy movies knights movies mystery movies siege movies fortress movies

The 13th Warrior

Director: John McTiernan


Czas: 100 minut

Laguages: English / Latin / Old Norse

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


In Medieval Europe thirteen warriors set out to answer call for help from small village terrorized by the mysterious monster that comes from the mountains.


In medieval Europe Arab ambassador Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan of Baghdad travels through the secluded parts of the continent. On the route to another town his caravan is attacked by the local tribe, but they retreat once they spot the Vikings boat on the river. Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan for the first time meets people of the north and is fascinated by their culture, but soon a distress message reaches the warriors. A small village somewhere in the north is terrorized by mysterious monster that flows down from the mountains and kill the villagers. A northern oracle makes a prophecy that 13 warriors will save the village and the Vikings volunteer to join the party, but there are only 12 of them. Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan decides to join them so the prophecy would fulfil, but the Vikings are not happy about it - they make fun of his small horse, his funny clothes and the language they don’t understand. But Ahmed is determined to get their respect, so he learns their language and he proves he is able warrior. Once they arrive to the village it becomes clear that the locals are absolutely terrified that the monster will soon come back.

Film based on Michael Crichton novel, that didn’t gather much attention after the premiere, but later gained almost cult status from the fantasy fans. But the whole story is actually very interesting, the movie resembles such titles as Seven Samurai or Brotherhood of the Wolf and is great adventure not only for fantasy fans, but also is a decent depiction of the medieval warriors. Of course it lacks any historical accuracy, but the atmosphere of mystery gives it a additional value.


Our rating

6.8

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



The 13th Warrior 1999 war movie

The 13th Warrior full movie


full movie The 13th Warrior full movie
full movie The 13th Warrior on DVD
full movie The 13th Warrior on BluRay


The 13th Warrior videos


The 13th Warrior




Creators of The 13th Warrior

Warren Lewis movies

Warren Lewis

screenplay


Cast of The 13th Warrior

Antonio Banderas movies antonio-banderas

Antonio Banderas

as Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan

Vladimir Kulich movies vladimir-kulich

Vladimir Kulich

as Buliwyf

Neil Maffin movies neil-maffin

Neil Maffin

as Roneth

John DeSantis movies john-desantis

John DeSantis

as Ragnar

Clive Russell movies clive-russell

Clive Russell

as Helfdane

Asbjorn Riis movies asbjorn-riis

Asbjorn Riis

as Halga

Tony Curran movies tony-curran

Tony Curran

as Weath

Omar Sharif movies omar-sharif

Omar Sharif

as Melchisidek






The 13th Warrior trivia


Financial flop

Although to this day it is still unclear what was the final budget of the movie (some version state it as 90 million USD, others put it on 120 or even 160 million level) the film did not brake even with estimated income worldwide around 60 million USD.





The 13th Warrior quotes


Herger:
When they come, we form a circle in the center of the room, backs to one another.
Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan:
I am not a warrior.
Herger:
Very soon, you will be.




Themes in The 13th Warrior

Viking warriorsmedieval warriors

The 13th Warrior full war movie

The 13th Warrior war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Second Moroccan Warretro games