Platoon war movie
online soccer manager

Platoon war movie


Platoon (1986, United States)

Categories: infantry movies jungle movies military base movies

Platoon

Director: Oliver Stone


Czas: 120 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Young recruit sent to Vietnam learns that the war isn’t the idealistic battle of good and evil - it is battle between evil and evil.


During Vietnam War young man Chris Taylor volunteers to join army and soon after is being prepared for transfer to southeast Asia. He sees soldiers returning from their tour of duty - human wrecks scared mentally or with mutilated bodies. Nevertheless Chris sees his service as his duty for his country. On arrival he quickly learns that the reality of this war is far from what he expected. His unit is under command of two sergeants - Elias and Barnes that represent two different approaches to their role in the war. Barnes is ruthless and thinks their mission justifies any means he uses. Elias has more direct approach to people and tries to keep distance from the war. In the jungle they are constantly under the threat from Viet Cong and lose few man during the night attack of the partisans. On arrival to village believed to support Viet Cong Barnes leads the soldiers ready to take revenge on civilians for the loses of his unit. Elias tries to stop him, but when those two veterans clash the situation quickly gets out of hand.

The story written by Oliver Stone is based on his own experience from Vietnam War, where he served in the army. Hard look at that conflict shows how brutality of the war infect people involved - humanity in some people quickly vanishes under the stress and constant threat and they move to more primal feelings - fear, anger, ruthlessness and urge to take revenge. Brutal movie about brutal conflict that left many soldiers wounded for life - physically and mentally.


Our rating

7.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Platoon 1986 war movie

Platoon full movie


full movie Platoon full movie
full movie Platoon on DVD


Creators of Platoon

Oliver Stone movies

Oliver Stone

director

Oliver Stone movies

Oliver Stone

screenplay


Cast of Platoon

Willem Dafoe movies willem-dafoe

Willem Dafoe

as Sgt. Elias

Tom Berenger movies tom-berenger

Tom Berenger

as Sgt. Barnes

Forest Whitaker movies forest-whitaker

Forest Whitaker

as Big Harold

Kevin Dillon movies kevin-dillon

Kevin Dillon

as Bunny

John C. McGinley movies

John C. McGinley

as Sgt. ONeill

Mark Moses movies mark-moses

Mark Moses

as Lt. Wolfe

Johnny Depp movies johnny-depp

Johnny Depp

as Lerner

Events depicted in Platoon

Vietnam War (1955-1975)





Platoon full war movie

Platoon war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne world war 2 moviesgrzegorz benedykciński