Men of the Fighting Lady war movie
online soccer manager

Men of the Fighting Lady war movie


Men of the Fighting Lady (1954, United States)

Categories: aircraft carrier movies aircraft movies bombardment movies

Men of the Fighting Lady

Director: Andrew Marton


Czas: 85 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Pilots of USS Oriskany aircraft carrier repeat attacks on the same target - a strategic railroad junction - but each time they are asked to take more risk.


Journalist James A. Michener arrives to USS Oriskany aircraft carrier that operates near coast of Korea. The ship surgeon, Commander Dowling, tells him the story of group of pilots from USS Oriskany while they were attacking targets during the Korean War. Several times they were attacking the same target - a railroad junction, but each time they were asked to attack from lower altitude, which maked their task more risky. Two of the commanders, Grayson and Dodson, had different views on that tactics - while Dodson thought it’s puting them in unnecessary danger of being shot down, Grayson prefered more aggresive attacks. Soon the tention between them affects other pilots.

American war drama set during Korean War, that consists a lot of real combat scenes (including attacks on the target, the take-offs and landings on aircraft carrier and in-flight manouvers) which makes it one of more realistic war movies about aircraft carrier operations. Surprisingly, even though the movie was obviously made with US Navy cooperation, the creators manages to keep it free of the war-time propaganda and the plot concentrates on the human side of the airborne warfare and pilots rather than senseless patriotic brainwashing.

The script was based on true stories of the pilots that were serving over Korea. The stories were first published in Saturday Evening Post, article "The Forgotten Heroes of Korea" by James A. Michener. Overall it is almost documentary-like film with plenty of real action scenes.


Our rating

7.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Men of the Fighting Lady 1954 war movie

Men of the Fighting Lady full movie


full movie Men of the Fighting Lady on DVD
full movie Men of the Fighting Lady full movie


Creators of Men of the Fighting Lady

Harry A. Burns movies

Harry A. Burns

screenplay

Art Cohn movies

Art Cohn

screenplay


Cast of Men of the Fighting Lady

Van Johnson movies van-johnson

Van Johnson

as Thayer

Walter Pidgeon movies walter-pidgeon

Walter Pidgeon

as Dowling

Louis Calhern movies louis-calhern

Louis Calhern

as Michener

Dewey Martin movies dewey-martin

Dewey Martin

as Schechter

Keenan Wynn movies keenan-wynn

Keenan Wynn

as Dodson

Frank Lovejoy movies frank-lovejoy

Frank Lovejoy

as Grayson

Robert Horton movies robert-horton

Robert Horton

as Conovan

Bert Freed movies bert-freed

Bert Freed

as Szymanski

Events depicted in Men of the Fighting Lady

Korean War (1950-1953)





Men of the Fighting Lady full war movie

Men of the Fighting Lady war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Second Punic Warogłoszenia milanówek