Jarhead war movie
online football manager

Jarhead war movie


Jarhead (2005, United States)

Categories: desert movies infantry movies military base movies

Jarhead

Director: Sam Mendes


Czas: 125 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Young man joins the US Marines and soon goes to Middle East before the Gulf War.


Anthony Swofford joins US Marines and starts the basic military training and later takes the Scout Sniper course. His unit is about to be sent abroad to Persian Gulf region that recently became the point of interest for the whole world. In 1990, after the invasion on Kuwait, Swofford is among the troops that are located next to Iraqi border in preparations to the Desert Storm Operation, one of the first wars that will get the extensive TV coverage. But the conflict seen on TV is completely different from the experience of the soldiers involved. For them every day near the Iraqi border is fulled with boredom, drills and yearning to either return home or go into the fight.

Film presents the everyday life of US Marines on the desert just waiting for the Iraqi operation to start. They are bored, they have no idea what to expect from the conflict (if there will be one) except that they will win quickly. But weeks go by and they are still in the same place, doing the same things they did last week. When the operation actually starts they feel tired and depressed.

Jarhead is based on a book written by veteran of Desert Storm and concentrates rather on the state of mind of average marine than the conflict itself or the political background. On one hand it’s a good thing, because we see what we couldn’t see on TV during the war, but on the other hand the film is average at best - the anecdotes from the lives of marines in Middle East aren’t that interesting. The war itself is shown in just a short sequence and even though it is rather realistic image still it’s hard to get excited about this movie. People often say "this story would make a great movie", but story of Anthony Swofford obviously wouldn’t and Jarhead is the best proof.


Our rating

5.2

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Jarhead 2005 war movie

Jarhead full movie


full movie Jarhead full movie
full movie Jarhead on DVD
full movie Jarhead on BluRay


Creators of Jarhead

Sam Mendes movies

Sam Mendes

director


Cast of Jarhead

Jake Gyllenhaal movies jake-gyllenhaal

Jake Gyllenhaal

as Anthony Swofford

Peter Sarsgaard movies peter-sarsgaard

Peter Sarsgaard

as Alan Troy

Jamie Foxx movies jamie-foxx

Jamie Foxx

as Sergeant Sykes

Brian Geraghty movies brian-geraghty

Brian Geraghty

as Fergus ODonnell

Jacob Vargas movies jacob-vargas

Jacob Vargas

as Juan Cortez

Laz Alonso movies laz-alonso

Laz Alonso

as Ramon Escobar

Events depicted in Jarhead

Gulf War (1990-1991)





Jarhead full war movie