Sharks and Little Fish war movie
online soccer manager

Sharks and Little Fish war movie


Sharks and Little Fish (1957, Germany)

Original / alternative title: Haie und Kleine Fische

Categories: convoy movies navy movies submarine movies

Sharks and Little Fish

Director: Frank Wisbar


Czas: 120 minut

Laguages: German

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Young cadets join the pride of German navy, the submarines, to get the chance to be the attacking side for once.


Four young cadets join the German navy in 1940, but they are assigned to merchant navy and set out to gather their first experience. They didn’t have to wait long for first encounter with enemy - their convoy is attacked by British planes and the green cadets have to prove they worked hard during their basic training. Despite their best efforts on anti-aircraft guns the convoy suffered heavy losses, including their own ship - the captain was killed and soon after the ship was hit by a torpedo and sunk. The survivors are rescued by U-boot crew and the cadets realize that by joining the submarine crews they will no longer be the targets of attacks, they would become hunters. They sign up for service on U-Boots at the height of the German submarine warfare.

Interesting movie showing the other side of the war on Atlantic - years before Das Boot we see young Germans joining the submarine navy in 1940, when U-Boots were still the great power. But even with the technological advantage the crews were hoping to survive yet another patrol and yet another attack on convoy. Unfortunately the production wasn’t made with much effort - almost all of the scenes that take place out on the sea were taken from wartime documentaries, actors just fake shooting from anti-aircraft guns and only the dialogues bits were actually original production. The story itself is quite similar to Enemy Below, but shown only from the German side. Overall original idea, but filmed very cheaply and with minimum effort.


Our rating

4.8

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Sharks and Little Fish 1957 war movie

Sharks and Little Fish full movie


full movie Sharks and Little Fish on DVD


Creators of Sharks and Little Fish

Frank Wisbar movies

Frank Wisbar

director

Wolfgang Ott movies

Wolfgang Ott

screenplay

Alf Teichs movies

Alf Teichs

screenplay


Cast of Sharks and Little Fish

Hansjorg Felmy movies hansjorg-felmy

Hansjorg Felmy

as Teichmann

Horst Frank movies horst-frank

Horst Frank

as Heyne

Thomas Braut movies thomas-braut

Thomas Braut

as Stollenberg

Wolfgang Preiss movies wolfgang-preiss

Wolfgang Preiss

as U-Bootkommandant Lttke

Heinz Engelmann movies heinz-engelmann

Heinz Engelmann

as Flottillenchef Erich Wegener

Siegfried Lowitz movies siegfried-lowitz

Siegfried Lowitz

as Leutnant Pauli

Events depicted in Sharks and Little Fish

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Atlantic (3 Sep 1939)





Sharks and Little Fish full war movie

Sharks and Little Fish war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne Canadian war moviesonline football manager games