Hacksaw Ridge war movie
online soccer manager

Hacksaw Ridge war movie


Hacksaw Ridge (2016, United States)

Categories: infantry movies military base movies landing movies

Hacksaw Ridge

Director: Mel Gibson


Czas: 135 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Desmond Doss, a conscientious objector on religious grounds, who despite his strong beliefs joins the army, but refuses to take part in war as soldier. While not even carrying a gun he became one of the heroes of Battle of Okinawa and recipient of Medal of Honor.


Desmond Doss, a Seventh-day Adventist strongly believes in the commandment "Thou shalt not kill", but when World War 2 starts it is hard for people like him to just pretend it has nothing to do with them. Doss joins the army, but even the uniform won’t change his views and during the basic training he refuses to use weapons. His superiors do not understand why he is so stubborn, they even try to discharge him from the army for psychiatric reasons. Despite their hostile approach and contempt shown by other soldiers he finishes the training by being assigned to a medic duty, in which he is not obligated to carry a weapon. The first engagement of his unit is attack on Japanese positions located on high cliff called Hacksaw Ridge during Battle of Okinawa. When they arrive to the location and climb the cliff to support another unit Japanese launch a counter-attack, which causes heavy casualties on both sides. Marines are forced to retreat from Hacksaw Ridge, but Doss decides to stay behind and help the wounded.

American war movie telling the true story of Desmond Doss, who was first ever conscientious objector in American army to be awarded Medal of Honor for his actions on Hacksaw Ridge. While his story is amazing and unarmed he done something most of the people would be afraid to do even heavily armed and protected, the movie somehow manages to be disappointing. The plot concentrates too much on the part of the story that takes place before and during the basic training, while the most important part when he was alone on Hacksaw Ridge is a bit shallow and almost unimportant in the movie. Perhaps the Desmond Doss story is one of those that seem to be perfect to make movie based on them, but when you take a hard look at them it’s hard to imagine how they could be interesting, involving and entertaining at the same time. Hacksaw Ridge, just like previously Unbroken or The Railway Man, are true to the original story that was interesting, but fail to be memorable war movie.


Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Hacksaw Ridge 2016 war movie

Creators of Hacksaw Ridge

Mel Gibson movies

Mel Gibson

director

Andrew Knight movies

Andrew Knight

screenplay


Cast of Hacksaw Ridge

Andrew Garfield movies andrew-garfield

Andrew Garfield

as Desmond Doss

Hugo Weaving movies hugo-weaving

Hugo Weaving

as Tom Doss

Teresa Palmer movies teresa-palmer

Teresa Palmer

as Dorothy Schutte

Vince Vaughn movies vince-vaughn

Vince Vaughn

as Sergeant Howell

Ben O’Toole movies ben-o’toole

Ben O’Toole

as Corporal Jessop

Sam Worthington movies sam-worthington

Sam Worthington

as Captain Glover

Rachel Griffiths movies rachel-griffiths

Rachel Griffiths

as Bertha Doss

Firass Dirani movies firass-dirani

Firass Dirani

as Vito Rinnelli

Michael Sheasby movies michael-sheasby

Michael Sheasby

as Tex Lewis

Luke Pegler movies luke-pegler

Luke Pegler

as Hollywood Zane

Nico Cortez movies nico-cortez

Nico Cortez

as Wal Kirzinski

Richard Roxburgh movies richard-roxburgh

Richard Roxburgh

as Colonel Stelzer

Events depicted in Hacksaw Ridge

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Okinawa (1 Apr 1945)







Hacksaw Ridge trivia


First battle

Contrary to Hacksaw Ridge script Battle of Okinawa wasn’t first battle for Desmond Doss and his unit, previously they were part of landing forces on Guam and Leyte.





Themes in Hacksaw Ridge

US MarinesJapanese army



War movies like Hacksaw Ridge

Windtalkers 2002 war movie

Windtalkers (2002)

Film based on a true story of Navajo Indians, who were used during the World War 2 as translators to send coded messages between units on Pacific using their native language, which made it impossible for the Japanese to decode them.

Yesterday’s Enemy 1959 war movie

Yesterday’s Enemy (1959)

British captain has to make a difficult decision when his unit is lost in the middle of Burma jungle.

Flags of Our Fathers 2006 war movie

Flags of Our Fathers (2006)

The story of US Marines that put up the American flag on top of the Mount Suribachi during Battle of Iwo Jima. As symbol of struggle on the Pacific they return to United States to take part in the war bonds drive.

Hacksaw Ridge full war movie

Hacksaw Ridge war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne top 25 war moviesww2 collectibles