Flags of Our Fathers war movie
online football manager

Flags of Our Fathers war movie


Flags of Our Fathers (2006, United States)

Categories: landing movies infantry movies

Flags of Our Fathers

Director: Clint Eastwood


Czas: 130 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


The story of US Marines that put up the American flag on top of the Mount Suribachi during Battle of Iwo Jima. As symbol of struggle on the Pacific they return to United States to take part in the war bonds drive.


February 1945, American forces approach next Pacific Island on their way to attack Tokio, but the next one, Iwo Jima, is different from all the previous islands they have invaded. Iwo Jima was not taken by the Japanese at the beginning of the war, Iwo Jima is part of their fatherland, a piece of land they will defend until the end. The island itself is small and almost flat with only one distinguished feature, Mount Suribachi that overlooks rest of the land. US Marines will land on the beaches and attack the mountain as the primary target, after 3 days of heavy shelling from battleships and bombardment from aircraft carriers the infantry should not have problem in securing the beaches. The only thing that worries the Americans is the fact that Japanese seem to be very quite and their defence is much weaker than was expected. Three among the thousands of Marines preparing for the landing, Private Ira Hayes, Private Rene Gagnon and Navy Corpsman John Bradley will play a special part in the operation, although they still don’t know that.

American war drama set during and after the Battle of Iwo Jima, but with emphasis not on the battle, but on the true story of four of the Marines that happened to be at the top of Mount Suribachi when American flag was put up. The photo of that event became a symbol of the US struggle on Pacific, although as usual in US history parts of that story were not truth. The movie itself is historically accurate, but the choice to follow the face of those Marines was a bold choice because their story wasn’t really that interesting to be honest. It’s just like the battle itself was just an addition to the story of that photo and people behind it, which didn’t really worked as a tribute to US Marines that died on the island nor to the whole war effort.


Our rating

6.0

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Flags of Our Fathers 2006 war movie

Flags of Our Fathers full movie


full movie Flags of Our Fathers full movie
full movie Flags of Our Fathers on DVD


Flags of Our Fathers videos


Flags of Our Fathers




Creators of Flags of Our Fathers

Paul Haggis movies

Paul Haggis

screenplay


Cast of Flags of Our Fathers

Adam Beach movies adam-beach

Adam Beach

as Corporal Ira Hayes

Jesse Bradford movies jesse-bradford

Jesse Bradford

as Corporal Rene Gagnon

Ryan Phillippe movies ryan-phillippe

Ryan Phillippe

as John Bradley

John Benjamin Hickey movies john-benjamin-hickey

John Benjamin Hickey

as Sergeant Keyes Beech

Paul Walker movies paul-walker

Paul Walker

as Sergeant Hank Hansen

John Slattery movies john-slattery

John Slattery

as Bud Gerber

Barry Pepper movies barry-pepper

Barry Pepper

as Sergeant Michael Strank

Jamie Bell movies jamie-bell

Jamie Bell

as Private Ralph Ignatowski

Robert Patrick movies robert-patrick

Robert Patrick

as Colonel Johnson

Neal McDonough movies neal-mcdonough

Neal McDonough

as Captain Dave Severance

Events depicted in Flags of Our Fathers

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Iwo Jima (19 Feb 1945)







Themes in Flags of Our Fathers

US Marines



War movies like Flags of Our Fathers

Windtalkers 2002 war movie

Windtalkers (2002)

Film based on a true story of Navajo Indians, who were used during the World War 2 as translators to send coded messages between units on Pacific using their native language, which made it impossible for the Japanese to decode them.

Hacksaw Ridge 2016 war movie

Hacksaw Ridge (2016)

Desmond Doss, a conscientious objector on religious grounds, who despite his strong beliefs joins the army, but refuses to take part in war as soldier. While not even carrying a gun he became one of the heroes of Battle of Okinawa and recipient of Medal of Honor.

Rules of Engagement 2000 war movie

Rules of Engagement (2000)

Vietnam veteran Colonel Childers is sent to Yemen to evacuate the ambassador and his family, but on the arrival they realize the situation is much worse they have expected.

Flags of Our Fathers full war movie

Flags of Our Fathers war movie © 2013-2023 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne world war 2 moviesfilmy