Down Periscope war movie
online soccer manager

Down Periscope war movie


Down Periscope (1996, United States)

Categories: navy movies raid movies submarine movies

Down Periscope

Director: David S. Ward


Czas: 90 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Eccentric submarine commander that doesn’t get along with his superiors, is given the command over old submarine to take part in the excercise to check if United States are ready to stop enemies using diesel-powered submarines.


Tom Dodge is far from being typical material for submarine commander - he is eccentric, insubordinate, he doesn’t get along with his superiors, not to mention the tattoo on his penis... When he is overlooked for the third time as candidate to became commander of nuclear submarine means that he will be reassigned to a desk job or will have to leave the navy. However Vice Admiral Winslow finds a different way to make use of Dodge unique skills. He offers him a command of submarine, but much to Dodge’s dispear it isn’t nuclear submarine. He is given command of World War 2 submarine that was supposed to be scrapped soon. Winslow wants Dodge to take part in the vital excercise - since most of the US enemies has nuclear weapons navy plans to simulate the attack of diesel-powered submarine on the East Coast and Dodge with his unconventional approach to the service might be the factor needed for this mission to succeed.

Rear Admiral Graham, who can’t stand Dodge, doesn’t want this mission to be too easy for Dodge, assigns him a crew of worst rejects he could find and as a cherry on the top he sends Lieutenant Emily Lake as diving officer knowing the reluctance of sailors to have woman onboard and also that older submarines are not suitable for mixed-gender crews. Surrounded by incompetent sailors and not much better officers Dodge sets out for the hopeless mission with ingenuity as his only weapon.

Comedy with submarine warfare as main theme - brilliant, but unconventional officer is given the task that he simply has to fail. The scipt can’t be called brilliant nor inspired - it is simple and goofy comedy that could be quite entertaining.


Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Down Periscope 1996 war movie

Down Periscope full movie


full movie Down Periscope full movie
full movie Down Periscope on DVD


Creators of Down Periscope

Hugh Wilson movies

Hugh Wilson

screenplay

Andrew Kurtzman movies

Andrew Kurtzman

screenplay

Eliot Wald movies

Eliot Wald

screenplay


Cast of Down Periscope

Kelsey Grammer movies kelsey-grammer

Kelsey Grammer

as Tom Dodge

Lauren Holly movies lauren-holly

Lauren Holly

as Emily Lake

Rob Schneider movies rob-schneider

Rob Schneider

as Marty Pascal

Rip Torn movies rip-torn

Rip Torn

as Admiral Winslow

Bruce Dern movies bruce-dern

Bruce Dern

as Admiral Graham

Toby Huss movies toby-huss

Toby Huss

as Nitro

Duane Martin movies duane-martin

Duane Martin

as Jackson

Bradford Tatum movies bradford-tatum

Bradford Tatum

as Stepanak

William H. Macy movies william-h.-macy

William H. Macy

as Captain Knox

Patton Oswalt movies patton-oswalt

Patton Oswalt

as radioman






Down Periscope trivia


USS Pampanito

The real World War 2 Balao class submarine was used in the movie - USS Pampanito (SS 383) that completed six war patrols from 1944 to 1945 and served as a Naval Reserve Training ship from 1960 to 1971. Due to lack of submerging capability models had to be used in the underwater scenes.



Down Periscope full war movie

Down Periscope war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne courtroom moviessitcoms