Day Four war movie
online soccer manager

Day Four war movie


Day Four (1984, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Dzień czwarty

Categories: urban warfare movies resistance movies

Day Four

Director: Ludmila Niedbalska


Czas: 80 minut

Laguages: Polish

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Young Polish poet Krzysztof Kamil Baczynski is among the insurgents during Warsaw Uprising in 1944, but his life has ended on the fourth day of the fight.


On August 1st 1944 Warsaw Uprising has started aiming to free the Polish capital city, while Soviet army was approaching from the east. Young poet Krzysztof Kamil Baczynski was part of one of the platoons of the Grey Ranks - teenagers, who used to be scouts before the war and now joined the resistance. On the first day of the uprising the morale of the insurgents was very high, but their equipment was far from what they could have expected - Baczynski’s platoon has only one pistol and few bullets, but still they are hoping to make their mark in history. But right now all they can do is hide and wait for the Germans to retreat from city center. Once they were able to join their unit the situation in Warsaw seemed optimistic - the insurgents were able to take control over few of the major buildings, but now Baczynski and his men are sent to other duties - they overlook the fight in nearby streets.

Polish war movie describing the short time young poet Krzysztof Kamil Baczynski had to participate in the Warsaw Uprising of 1944 - from day one that insurgents stood up against German occupants to they day four that he died. We see how the insurgents spent their time, how they felt about what was going on around them and how the young man, who used to write lyric poetry finds himself in a new reality. Unfortunately the film was made in 1984, which was a really bad time for Polish cinema - soon after the Martial Law period of 1981-1983 and before the switch to democracy there were very little money for movie production, not to mention high quality equipment. Day Four is a mixture of static scenes filmed in the interiors of the buildings and dynamic scenes that were taken from war time newsreels, and the final effect is as bad as can be expected - original scenes introduce very little content, while the war time scenes stick out like sore thumb. The story itself is also not that impressive - Baczynski is known in Poland due to his poetry is school reading, but his participation in Warsaw Uprising is just another story from the World War II era.


Our rating

4.0

Film value

3 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Day Four 1984 war movie

Day Four videos


Day Four




Creators of Day Four


Cast of Day Four

Krzysztof Pieczynski movies krzysztof-pieczynski

Krzysztof Pieczynski

as Krzysztof Kamil Baczynski

Jaroslaw Domin movies jaroslaw-domin

Jaroslaw Domin

as Zbigniew Czajkowski-Debczynski

Bogdan Szczesiak movies bogdan-szczesiak

Bogdan Szczesiak

as Piechocki

Witold Kopec movies witold-kopec

Witold Kopec

as Slawek

Katarzyna Kozak movies katarzyna-kozak

Katarzyna Kozak

as Barbara Drapczynska

Joanna Wizmur movies joanna-wizmur

Joanna Wizmur

as Barbara’s sister

Zdzislaw Wardejn movies zdzislaw-wardejn

Zdzislaw Wardejn

as Major Barry




Day Four full war movie

Day Four war movie © 2013-2024 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne war moviesonline decypher game