Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall war movie
online football manager

Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall war movie


Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall (1972, United Kingdom)

Categories: infantry movies military base movies

Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall

Director: Norman Cohen


Czas: 100 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Future comedy star Spike Milligan is called up for active service in 1940 adding his... unique talents to the quality of British army.


In 1940 young Terence Milligan, later better known by his stage name Spike Milligan, gets his call-up letter and soon joins other recruits in Royal Artillery military training base in Bexhill-on-Sea. From the beginning he gets on the wrong foot with the officers, who see his easygoing manner as a unmistakable symptom of being a troublemaker. His adventures (and more often misadventures) during the military training show how the clash between the pompous military discipline and his creative mind had to lead to his future career as one of the icons of surreal humor.

Film based on Spike Milligan’s autobiography is a look on the real life of British recruits in 1940 - not the propaganda version of brave Tommies just waiting to join the war and prove what they are made of, but normal people gathered for military training - some of them frightened, some of them worried about their families, some of them plainly stupid (especially the officers are presented in that way). We see how he dealt with non-sense situations that took place around him, the pompous military rules that he gladly obeyed and how he saw his part in the whole military machine. Despite the fact that Milligan is a comedy icon and had great talent for creating irrational comedy situations Downfall 1972 war movie' title='Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall 1972 war movie'>Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall is not one of his better works. Even though the creators have assembled great cast of comedy actors the movie is hardly a masterpiece, more like curiosity or just bunch of war time anecdotes. Still it is worth a look - even to learn where Milligan got his inspirations at the beginning of his career.


Our rating

5.2

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall 1972 war movie

Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall full movie


full movie Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall


Creators of Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall

Norman Cohen movies

Norman Cohen

director

Spike Milligan movies

Spike Milligan

screenplay

Johnny Byrne movies

Johnny Byrne

screenplay


Cast of Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall

Jim Dale movies jim-dale

Jim Dale

as Spike Milligan

Barry Lowe movies barry-lowe

Barry Lowe

as Major Drysdale

Tony Selby movies tony-selby

Tony Selby

as Bill

Bill Maynard movies bill-maynard

Bill Maynard

as Sergeant Ellis

Windsor Davies movies windsor-davies

Windsor Davies

as Sergeant MacKay

Jim Norton movies jim-norton

Jim Norton

as Pongo

Spike Milligan movies spike-milligan

Spike Milligan

as Spike’s Father

Events depicted in Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall

World War II (1936-1945)







Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall trivia


Spike Milligan legacy

Spike Milligan was an icon of absurd comedy, he became legend as co-creator (together with Peter Sellers and Harry Secombe) of The Goon Show radio comedy show in 1950s. The Goon Show was inspiration for further generations of British comedians, including other legends of comedy - the Monty Python’s Flying Circus members.



Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall full war movie

Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne war moviesogłoszenia grodzisk mazowiecki