A Bridge Too Far war movie
online soccer manager

A Bridge Too Far war movie


A Bridge Too Far (1977, United Kingdom)

Categories: commandos movies landing movies paratroopers movies siege movies tank movies urban warfare movies

A Bridge Too Far

Director: Richard Attenborough


Czas: 175 minut

Laguages: English

war movies info
1970-01-01 / 1970-01-01


Operation Market-Garden, the daring plan of General Montgomery to break into Germany with help of paratroopers goes wrong. Based on real events.


In 1944, after the Normandy campaign, Allies knew that from this point the German army will be much harder to beat since they will have the time to prepare their defence. Field Marshal Montgomery, feeling that after D-Day his effort will not be noticed, comed up with a daring plan to attack Germans and taking them by surprise. Operation Market-Garden was suppose to be his biggest achievement - he planned to pass the German defence lines and drop large paratrooper forces behind enemy lines near the bridges in Holland, where they can take control of them and secure them until they will be reinforced. This part of the plan was called Market, the second part of the plan, called Garden, was swift push of armored forces along the main roads that lead towards those bridges and then straight into the heart of the enemy territory. It was risky plan, even on paper, but Montgomery saw it as brilliant way to overcome the power of Germans in the area and the best way to finish the war quickly without spending months on the frontline. Not many of his colleagues were so optimistic, some of them, like Polish General Sosabowski, were warning him that the plan will be a disaster even if the slight change of the conditions will occure. Soon after landing of first groups of paratroopers their worries were fully confirmed - not only the forces were unable to land in planned locations and they lost a lot of equipment, but also the intelligence have ignored vital informations about German armoured forces in the area. Even though the Market part of the plan seemed to reached most of it targets, mostly due to bravery and devotion of the paratroopers, the seemignly easier Garden part was not going as planned. Even to Montgomery it became obvious that plan did not worked, but since the paratroopers were already behind enemy lines there was no way to abandon the whole operation.

Film depicts the ill-fated Operation Market-Garden and the fate of the soldiers involved in the fights. Cast was packed with stars of British cinema (and few American), the script was well balanced between historical facts and entertaining values, but above all the story itself was very interesting and with quite an effort the creators put into that project they came up with one of the best war movies in history.


Our rating

8.0

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



A Bridge Too Far 1977 war movie

A Bridge Too Far full movie


full movie A Bridge Too Far


A Bridge Too Far videos


A Bridge Too Far




Creators of A Bridge Too Far

Cornelius Ryan movies

Cornelius Ryan

screenplay


Cast of A Bridge Too Far

Dirk Bogarde movies

Dirk Bogarde

as Lt. General Browning

Sean Connery movies

Sean Connery

as Major General Urquhart

Ryan O’Neal movies ryan-o’neal

Ryan O’Neal

as Brigadier General Gavin

Gene Hackman movies

Gene Hackman

as Major General Sosabowski

Walter Kohut movies walter-kohut

Walter Kohut

as Field Marshal Model

Edward Fox movies

Edward Fox

as Lieutenant General Horrocks

Michael Caine movies

Michael Caine

as Lieutenant Colonel J.O.E. Vandeleur

Michael Byrne movies michael-byrne

Michael Byrne

as Lieutenant Colonel Giles Vandeleur

Anthony Hopkins movies

Anthony Hopkins

as Lieutenant Colonel Frost

James Caan movies

James Caan

as Staff Sergeant Dohun

Maximilian Schell movies maximilian-schell

Maximilian Schell

as Lieutenant General Bittrich

Kurt Kreuger movies kurt-kreuger

Kurt Kreuger

as Major General Ludwig

Liv Ullmann movies liv-ullmann

Liv Ullmann

as Kate Ter Horst

Elliott Gould movies

Elliott Gould

as Colonel Stout

Robert Redford movies robert-redford

Robert Redford

as Major Cook

Denholm Elliott movies denholm-elliott

Denholm Elliott

as R.A.F. Met. Officer

Laurence Olivier movies laurence-olivier

Laurence Olivier

as Doctor Spaander

Jeremy Kemp movies jeremy-kemp

Jeremy Kemp

as R.A.F. Briefing Officer

Events depicted in A Bridge Too Far

World War II (1936-1945) Operation Market-Garden (17 Sep 1944)





A Bridge Too Far full war movie

A Bridge Too Far war movie © 2013-2022 War Movies Info


filmy wojenne war moviesgerman ww2 collectibles